Can You Write Too Much?

A lot is written and talked about writer’s block but what about the opposite? Can you write too much? I once read that Beryl Bainbridge would shut herself up in her home alone for as long as it took to write a novel, and would sometimes go months without contact with the outside world or even family. Not for me, that; a couple of hours’ concentration is enough and I make sure I factor in exercise, leisure time, household tasks, time with family and so on.

That’s not to say that if I am deeply involved with a piece of writing, I forget about it when not actually writing, obviously it is going on in the back of the mind all the time and as the text develops it can colour thought processes without the writer being even aware of it.

My problem, if it is a problem, is having so many writing projects going on at once. Like a butterfly I find it difficult to stick to one thing at a time until it is finished although I do finish everything I start. There are too many interesting subjects demanding attention. When I first started writing I would complete one piece before starting another. I found that fairly easy as I was then exploring the short story craft and poetry. Soon I branched out into writing non-fiction magazine articles but this didn’t seem quite like creative writing so I kept up with writing short fiction at the same time.

I got the novel bug after completing my MA thesis in Writing Studies for which I wrote a novella but naturally the course involved also writing theoretical papers and essays at the same time.

I love the novel form for the depth of development it permits but these long term projects can be obsessive and tedious at times. Writing something short occasionally can be liberating and refreshing. However, I’ve been writing for many years now and besides my published work I have a number of novels and short stories that still require some revision to bring them to publishable standard. I’m getting the feeling that I’m starting to clog up.

These poor works languishing on my computer waiting to see the light of day haunt me but I currently have a deadline for revisions to a novel accepted for publication next year. Revision hardly seems like creative work so I’ve a short story on the boil and also another novel which is half-written and progressing slowly through cups of  coffee in cafes to satisfy my need for some ‘real writing’.

For some years I’ve also been writing a history of my home town, part of it I have already published and now I am being asked where the rest of it is but it is a real long term labour of love. I’d like to spend more time on it but have resigned myself to allocating one day a week so that at least some progress is made, but oh dear, so much research before actually writing anything.

More of my writing time is taken up writing reviews, judging writing competitions and preparing work for writing seminars and courses I am asked to facilitate. On top of that there are now so many social media requirements, blogging, keeping my website updated, facebooking, tweeting etc. etc. and there is always the need to make time for actual networking, attending writing events and writing groups.

Is it all too much? Am I jack-of-all-trades, master of none? Maybe but I’ve grown expert at timetabling and writing to demand. Does my writing suffer – lack depth- because of my inability to concentrate on one thing? I hope not but my readers will be judges of that.

There are many different styles of writing and I guess we each have to write the person we are. Some writers are prolific and eclectic, others write slow masterpieces over long periods. I’m just one of those writers constantly distracted by a myriad ideas. Even as I’m absorbed in writing one story, I can sense something else calling, some little bit of grit in my brain, working itself into a pearl. It may be something I heard or saw years ago that has lain there gathering until at last it flaps into motion, demanding to be let out on paper.

Will all my creations see the light of day? Who knows, perhaps it doesn’t really matter.

http://www.carolfenlon.com

 

 

 

One thought on “Can You Write Too Much?

  1. kellygriffiths

    I often feel I could write all day every day in order to get things done… but other responsibilities rear their heads too! Keep plodding along, I say. Eat the elephant one bite at a time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

