The Museum of You and some thoughts on possessions

I’ve been reading Carys Bray’s book The Museum of You and it made me think about the relevance of possessions in our  lives today.

Before industrialisation, possessions were few and most people had no need of keys and locks but now, because our economies are driven by production and consumption we amass hundreds? thousands? of objects in our lifetimes. Do they actually mean that much to us?

I occasionally sell off a prized doll from my collection but the loss of the loved object is soon forgotten in the desire to acquire something else. At the end of the day, how many of my possessions, things I think express who I am, will be valued and kept by my family?

Every weekend at the house clearance stalls at Prestatyn car boot sale I see the concrete evidence of people’s lives chucked on the ground for bargain hunters to scavenge. It’s not just the everyday objects like furniture and cooking utensils but their hobbies and interests are laid bare (books, garden tools, photography equipment, knitting wools and embroidery items etc. etc. etc) and quite often treasured birthday and Christmas cards, family photographs, even letters and bank  statements. I’ve even seen photo albums containing locks of baby hair, all carefully saved by someone  who never dreamed where they would end up.

And the sight of these pathetic heaps brings home the realisation of the sheer mass of stuff with which we are cluttering our planet. While half the people in the world starve, the rest of us waste resources on stuff that mostly has no functional value whatsoever.

The other thing Bray’s book made me think about is the way artefacts are treasured as records of history. In The Museum of You Clover mistakenly catalogues items in her museum collection as belonging to her mother or having been bought for her by her mother because that is what she wants them to be. It’s a jog to the mind that our knowledge of the past is only an interpretation of relics, not a statement of facts.

History is perhaps, like our passion for possessions, a way of  making ourselves feel important, when it is arguable that our only significance is the danger we bring to the rest of the ecosystem in which we live.

 

2 thoughts on “The Museum of You and some thoughts on possessions

  1. brownsunroom

    Carol, this really made me think about my own ‘treasured possesions’ and what signifigance they would have to my children when i’m gone; I’m guessing the photographs would be the only survivors, and perhaps my many unsold books (then again, maybe not the books). My sister’s daughter has threatened to order a couple of skips to empty her attic contents when she loses her guard over them (she collects everone elses junk after they pass on.) But on a larger scale, think of the 80% of stored artwork never seen by the public, after the enourmous cost of purchase, the exeptional cost to store it all, who benifits from it? I get what you’re saying though, one man’s junk is another man’s treasure, we just swap it around, on loan for a while. The personal stuff is just that, personal to you, future landfill. Stuff this, I’m taking mine with me! Or time for a clear-out.

    Reply
  2. Cath Cole

    An interesting piece. I agree with Carol and Eliazabeth about the relevance of one persons treasured possessions to another. Who will want my books, particularly my first editions? What about all the paintings we have collected over the years? Well done Carys Bray for getting us debating the wider issues related to possessions and their meaning

    Reply

Leave a Reply

