Starting the writing year with a bang

There’s just something about New Year for getting the old enthusiasm going. First thing I’ve done is have a meeting with a couple of other interested people in our writers’ group about starting some kind of collective for publishing some of our work, so I’ve a to do list to  get my local history work ready for publishing in June which gave me a kick up the backside to get on with editing it. I also  promised myself to send out more short story submissions this year, I keep writing them and not sending them out, so good enough, I re-edited one and sent it  out on Friday. Let you know how I get on. Also I got a concertina folder and marked it out with months  of the year, then went through all the Writers’ News competition info for 2014 and slotted it into the appropriate month. I looked up all the interesting small presses on the net, printed out their submission guidelines and put them in there as well, under the months  when they’re accepting submissions. I’ve been yet again revising the first few chapters of the new novel, just because I’ve booked myself 5 days away next week, just to work on it and I don’t want to be bogged down, going backwards and forwards checking stuff I should have already done. Really excited about this opportunity, just to stay in my room and write all day if I choose to. I’ll be back next weekend so I’ll be posting to let you know how I got on.

Leave a Reply

