ImageI bought this on a car boot for 50p, remembering how I used to eagerly await Christmas morning for my annual treat. it was always my best present  and i thought surely I would remember the stories inside as I definitely would have been given this edition. Sadly, i didn’t recall any of the actual stories, although I remembered the Silent Three, a gang of school chums who went about donning hooded robes and solving crimes. I thought I’d find the tales naive, viewing them from the wisdom of my ‘mature’ perspective but I was just as enthralled as ever. So far it’s been my best Christmas reading. I see things in them that I never noticed as a child. Yes all the females are breastless, even the adults. Yes, the ethos is middle class and public school with slightly patronising overtones as each heroine champions a variety of underdogs but hey, these girls are full of confidence and initiative. You could say they kick ass. And yes, I’m showing my age but so what?

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

