Inspiration from strange places

Well, I’ve been away for a couple of weeks, hence no posts. First week was in Pwlhelli. Had a lovely quiet week with lots of walks for me and the dog and managed to get quite a bit of writing done. Second week was a coach trip to the Cotswolds with some friends. Again got quite a bit of writing done in between sightseeing trips. The chapter I’m writing is from the detective protagonist’s point of view, but I really wanted to put in some sections from the VP  of the perpetrator but I couldn’t see how to do that without giving away her identity and I couldn’t get a clear idea of her voice. On our final day we went to Worcester, which is where I was brought up and the coach went past the house where I lived when I was very young, triggering lots of memories of my childhood

On Monday we had guest author Carys Bray at our writers’ group and Carys did a workshop with us based around our ideas of ‘home’. I started to write memories of my childhood, which had already been in my mind after the trip  to Worcester and then I had one of those lightbulb moments as I realised that I could use these for my perpetrator’s voice, giving clues about her childhood and personality without revealing too much about the her involvement in the crime.

On Tuesday I was at a local antiques centre, attending an auction. I had some time to spare waiting for a lot to come up that I wanted to bid on so I went to the cafe and started writing a section in the voice of the perpetrator using some of the memories that had surfaced in the workshop. After that I had a walk round the stalls and spotted a Dr Barnardo’s money box in the shape of a cottage dating roughly from the 1950s. I remembered there being one of these in my classroom at primary school and it triggered yet another memory of an incident I could include in my writing. The notion of ‘house’ figures strongly in my novel and it seemed almost fated that I should see this house and get this memory just when I needed it. It made me think how tenuous is the chain of ideas that leads to the pen and what arrives on the page and how things just seem to fall into your lap sometimes if you are open to receiving them. I’d been in a sort of Sargasso sea with this particular character and now suddenly it’s all systems go. Let’s hope it continues  this way.

Leave a Reply

